Where’s Ashley?

by brandt

My brain works late at night.  I can’t tell you how many major projects I’ve taken on at 10:30, or 11:00 at night, realizing that I’m going to hate myself in the morning.  And I’m not talking about “Oh, I’ll just pick up my office a tad before I go to bed.”

No.

It’s a total office overhaul, moving furniture, rearranging, etc.  It’s stupid things like deciding at 11:00 PM to reformat and reinstall Windows on my laptop because it’s not running as fast as I would like, and I’ve been meaning to do it anyways.  It’s doing a massive load of laundry and not being able to fall asleep because they’ve got to be washed, dried, and folded.  It drives Ashley nuts.  And don’t even get me going on my Wikipedia binges, where I will waste 2 hours and not realize it because I click on link after link after link.

I guess you could say I’m “Night Guy.”  It brings out the worst in me, but sometimes, just sometimes, it brings out most determined side.

As we were getting ready for bed one night, my mind had been racing about our house.  We had just put an offer on one house, and a lot of friends and family were wanting to see pictures, know about the house, hear about the experience, and generally share in our excitement.

I was trying to figure out a more effective way to address everyone rather than field phone calls all day and write emails all day (which I’m probably going to still do anyways).  But the interesting thing about this whole experience is that many are wanting to see the experiences of guinea pigs like Ashley and I in this new real estate economy.  Are there really as good of deals out there as the media says there is?  Is it really a buyers market?  How about pre-approval on a house, how reasonable was the bank’s amount they would lend to you?  What kind of houses are you touring while looking at foreclosures/bank owned homes/short sales/private owned homes?  My parents were project people to the core, renovating a dump up in Northern Michigan to a quaint little summer home, which is where I get my passion from.

I asked Ashley what she thought about starting a website, and she was all for it.  We threw around names, and thus, this is the result.

But where’s Ashley?

She’s laying low for a bit.  She doesn’t mind me doing the boring stuff of working out house details.  I’m the one that usually fields the calls from our agent/loan officer, I have the most communication with them, and Ashley gives me the thumbs up or thumbs down on what to do.

Ashley wants to do the fun stuff like writing about room renovations, color schemes, dorky things that I do, and layout designs.  Basically, the fun stuff.  So look for Ashley as soon as we get a house (hopefully soon!).

 

One Comment to “Where’s Ashley?”

  1. wow. that sounds pretty intense. It gives me a headache. It’s probably only because i’m really tired right now.

Leave a Reply

