Code word is “Santa’s got a brand new bag”.

by Ashley

Now that the holiday season is in full swing here in the Great Lakes State, Brandt has finally OK’ed listening to Christmas music in the car when we run our errands.  I love Christmas songs because they really set the mood for the holidays.  Yet there are some Christmas songs that I absolutely hate.  Take the song “The Christmas Shoes.” Call me heartless, but if a kid walks up to the checkout stand with some gold shoes and asks you to spot him because his mom is going to die soon? I don’t think so. I have no qualms helping people in need, but I take issue if a kid goes to the store, begging for random articles of clothing instead of food or warm clothes.  Another song I don’t care for either is “Grown up Christmas List.” While the song does mean well, it’s cliché and musically is horribly overproduced and underdelivered.

While the songs are a great part about Christmas, eventually the question comes down the goods.  The gifts.  One thing I find interesting about this season is more people ask what do you want for the Christmas, not so much what you are giving. This is the season giving, and people have more control on what they give instead of what they get.

So instead of writing a list of things that I want this year, I will write about what I want to give this year for Christmas.

My Christmas Giving List

1. Give something to someone in need

 

I’m one of nine kids. Six of us are married and four of my siblings have kids, so it’s needless to say I have a large family. Instead of spending enough money for presents to be a hefty mortgage payment, or drawing out names only to get a cheap piece of plastic you will never use, my mom told us to spend the money on someone who needs it. It takes out a lot of stress for the holidays plus it makes you feel good. Brandt and I haven’t decided what we are going to do; we will probably donate goods to a family in need through our church. This will probably be the most rewarding part of our holiday season.

2. My photography artwork

I’m no professional photographer, just an aspiring novice who wants to take professional looking pictures. I did take some pretty cool photos at a cider mill this fall. Plus with my Photoshop skills, it would make some pretty nice wall décor. Hmmmm.  If only I had a house to display my work. (Sigh)

3.Baked Goods

This year I’m totally going to be that person who bakes up a storm. I have plans to bake cooks, cakes, and candies to give to people this year for Christmas. Last Saturday I slaved tediously to make these silly but festive looking cake pops. I got the idea from Bakerella,  I made these Frosty the Snowman.  Cute, but  I really don’t understand how people can put that much time and effort to something that will be eaten in two seconds. Still, I’m baking festive goodies this year.  Next on the list of baking to-do’s  is a peppermint red velvet cake…FROM SCRATCH.  It’s a little intimidating,  but I’m not worried, Brandt has the same discernment as a goat .

4.Stocking stuffer…stuff

Brandt and I are actually going to get each other stuff to put in stockings this year. In Christmases past, our parents would still fill them out, but not this year! We are going to fill each other’s stockings with candy and other random things. Just another sign that I’m getting older. I feel so adult now, where’s a bill I need to pay—just kidding ;-).

5. A surprise for Brandt

This will be my biggest Christmas challenge yet, like trying to get the Tickle-Me-Elmo on sale on Black Friday. I know that’s a 14-year-old simile, but I’m out out touch with the current the toy market. I’m not good at keeping secrets like this, and usually Brandt can guess with in three hints. This year, I was able to make him believe that I got him driving gloves, until we went to a department store and asked him to pick some out for me. The look on his face when he found out that I had led him on with his gift was priceless.  A sweet victory that might not come again.  But now he knows that I have lied…err…”kept his present a secret” from him about this Christmas present, he won’t know what to believe. Any clue on what I will get for Brandt?   Nope. One thing I learned from being married to Brandt: don’t give out hints because his little mind will not rest until he figures it out.

That’s my list of what I’m giving this year.  Merry Christmas!

Pictures from Life.com, Learn Photoshop Now, Southern Living, ICanHasCheezburger, and Clayton RSL.

2 Comments to “Code word is “Santa’s got a brand new bag”.”

  1. Brandt has inherited that insatiable curiosity and impatience from me….his mom, alas……….

Leave a Reply

