Random Friday Five – 12/10/2010

by brandt

I have lots of random thoughts.  I’ve narrowed them down to five.  It’s Friday.  Let us begin.

1. Cable has kind of ruined classic holiday movies for me.  I mean, TBS, do you REALLY need to play 24 hours of “A Christmas Story”?  Do we really need to have ABC Family’s crappy “Made for TV” movies with horrible B-actors?  I mean, it’s not as if  there’s not a treasure trove of classic holiday movies out there:

  • The original 1934 “Babes in Toyland”
  • 1945’s “The Bells of St. Mary’s”
  • 1951’s “A Christmas Carol”
  • The aforementioned “A Christmas Story”
  • The original “How the Grinch Stole Christmas,” including the awesome deep-voiced song of “You’re a Mean one, Mr. Grinch.”
  • National Lampoon’s Christmas Vacation (the greatest Christmas movie ever made, and a true-to-life insiders view of the crazy people I call family)
  • A Muppet Christmas Carol
  • It’s a Wonderful Life, Miracle on 34th Street, Rudolph the Red Nosed Reindeer, Santa Claus is Coming to Town, A Charlie Brown Christmas, Elf and White Christmas?

I mean, there’s 11 movies right there.  And maybe I’m becoming more and more nostalgic when I get older, but isn’t that what the holidays is kind of built around?  Gathering the family together to watch the classic movies, no texting, no computer games, no XBox, just enjoying each other’s company?  I know for Ashley, Toby, Manny, and I, we’ll be doing it.  And it’s something we’ll instill in our kids.  This is Christmas time.  Embrace the movies.  Embrace the feelings.  And embrace your family, as crazy as they are.

Did I miss any movies?

 

2. They keep bracing us for Deathstorm 2010 here in Michigan.  You would think that in a climate that gets winter every single year without fail, and gets snow every single year without fail, and has to deal with the lake
effect on the winter weather, that we would get used to it. We don’t. But instead of complaining about idiot drivers,the one thing that makes the crazy blizzards and storms that we get around here somewhat fun is watching the panic put forward on the local news stations about the weather. “Deathstorm” was something I heard a sports radio guy say once describing the storm, and I loved it. Our affiliates here will use phrases like “Winter Storm 2010,” or “Blizzard 2010,” and react like we’re getting a category F5 tornado coming to town. Now sure, we’ve had some crazy storms here, but widespread panic like they use (to get ratings, nonetheless) isn’t necessary. So from hereon out, that’s where “Deathstorm” comes from.

 

3. I really love how Ugly Sweater parties have become all the rage.  I think that trend needs to come back full force.  It’s a part of our culture now.  Facebook has blown up with invites for Ugly Christmas Sweater Parties, offices have started bringing the tradition to be part of their culture, and we went from hating the Christmas sweater to embracing its potential ugliness.  And it’s not limited to sweaters, either!  Cardigans, turtlenecks, and other various ill-advised Christmas attire is now part of our cultural norm for the rising generations.  There are eBay sellers who make tons of money from being able to capitalize on it, but I’ve found that the local Salvation Army does just as good of a job (if not for the horrible Salvation Army clothes smell that goes along with it).

 

4. McDonald’s has done a very good job in bringing back the McRib and only having it for certain time periods and holidays.  The McRib has a huge cult following, and whenever they reintroduce it people start whispering to each other all excitedly like it’s back.  Same with the Shamrock Shake.  Bring it back because it’s special. Don’t bring it back just because you want to make a profit.  McDonald’s has a reputation for being cheap somewhat decent fast food, but this is the stuff that really develops loyalty in customers.  Ashley tried it, and needless to say, she wasn’t very impressed.  She doesn’t like onions on burgers, and that’s maybe what did it to her, or maybe it was the pickles, but gives it a thumbs down.  Me?  I could eat it for a week for lunch and dinner if it were available.

5. My father has recently gifted me with something that is very important in every man’s life.  As a matter of fact, it is the point when I realized I am now a man.  The magazines were something that I had dearly wanted for a while, and he determined that I was at a point in my life that I could handle them and appreciate them for what they are.  I believe he said that they would be perfect material for the bathroom, or for the office, or “whenever you need them.”  It is quite an important day in the Malone household.

Friends, I now have access to his vast collection of the greatest man’s magazine on the face of the earth.

I now have “The Family Handyman” collection.

I am Brandt.  I am man.

Images taken from CTV, PennLive, UglyOfficeSweaters, Unbreaded, and Amazon.

2 Comments to “Random Friday Five – 12/10/2010”

  1. Haha we used to watch Babes in Toyland every Christmas growing up! I haven’t seen it in years!

Leave a Reply

