I CHOOSE YOU, PIKACHU!

by brandt

Jenn over at Peas and Crayons was kind enough to bestow the prestigious high honor of “Stylish Blogger Award” to us.  Wow!  How incredibly kind!

“I’d like to thank the Academy…”

Blah blah blah thank you random big name director blah blah blah loving husband/wife/life partner/children/cat/dog/fish/iguana supporting me blah blah bl-

“IMMA LET YOU FINISH – BUT KANYE HAD ONE OF THE BEST NON-ACCEPTANCE SPEECHES OF ALL TIME!”

Yeah, I guess I should keep moving on, or this thing will go downhill really fast.

So what is this award?  According to Jenn,

Here’s how it works…
There are 4 duties to perform to accept this award:

1.  Make a post + Link back to the person who awarded you this award.
2.  Share 7 things about yourself. <— The fun part!
3.  Award 15 recently discovered great bloggers so we can share the love
4.  Contact these bloggers and tell them they’ve won!

So let’s see, we’ve marked off #1.  Go visit Peas and Crayons, by the way, but don’t visit them
before breakfast, second breakfast, elevensies, luncheon, afternoon tea, dinner or supper.

As a matter of fact, and don’t take this the wrong way, but don’t visit her site when you’re hungry. Because then, you’ll see the wonderful food she makes, you’ll become ravenous, realize that you didn’t make or don’t have the food that she shows on her website, and then you make a horrible mistake at a McDonald’s Drive-Thru…

err…

Not like I’ve done that before or anything…..

*Insert Awkward Moment of Silence Here*

ANYWAYS…Ashley decided that we should tag-team on this one, since once this whole housing adventure takes off (and we actually get our house) she’ll be taking a more proactive role in all the things that, frankly, I’m not interested in and I don’t do a good job explaining.  Like tablescapes.  Don’t get it, never will.  Paper plates and red plastic Solo cups for me!  Here’s the list – see if you can figure out which ones I wrote and which ones Ashley wrote!

1: I’m left-handed/ambidextrous

I’m left-handed, so is my mom and grandma. Also of my eight brothers and sisters, I have a brother and a sister that is left handed.  Though I get teased for being the opposite of everyone else, it’s one of those things that make me unique.  The world says to go right, I choose the other way.  Hooray for being different!  But because I grew up in a right-hand world, I did develop skills using my right, so that makes me an ambidextrous.  For example, I use my right hand for anything in sports; I swing, hit, throw all with my right.  Oddly enough that’s my strong arm.  Also my right eye is stronger than my left, and when I play my guitar, (I finally got it! Squeee!)  I play like the normal right-handers. I guess I’m confused as far as my manual dexterity skills go.

2: I am an ice-cream snob

I love my ice-cream just as much as the next person, but I am pickiest as far what kind I eat.  It has to be hard ice-cream, and the best way to eat it is going to a dairy farm and getting it fresh or going to a tourist town to the local ice cream place in a waffle cone.  No soft ice-cream!  So no need to apply, Dairy Queen and McDonalds, you can keep your melted mush in your nasty cake cones.  Even with ice-cream from a carton, I’m weary of what I consume.  The only two kinds I like are Bear Claw and Bumpy Cake, though it escapes me what brand makes them.

3: I must keep my car windshield absolutely spotless

I wish I could explain how this all came about.  It’s not a winter thing, though winter is when I go through the most windshield washer fluid.  It’s not a summer thing, because while bugs might hit the windshield, it’s not as bad as the salt they use here in Michigan to clear the roads.  All I know is that if there’s a speck on my windshield, it bothers me.  Grates at me.  Like nails on a chalkboard.  And I’ve got to fix it, or else my eyes will keep going towards that fleck of salt, or that splatter mark of a bug on my windshield.  And if I have to stop and get gas, I’m also that neurotic squeegee windshield washer who scrubs and scrubs and scrubs their windshields to make things spotless.  I’m working on fixing it…step one in the process is admitting that I have a problem.

4: I’m a worry wart

Yep it’s true; I worry about EVERYTHING all the time. I think that sentence explains it all.

5: If it’s salty and sweet, I love it

I love salt, as I’ve said before. If it’s both salty and sweet, it’s even better. It’s like what’s better that a cute kitty? TWO CUTE KITTIES!!!

cute baby animals-All in All, You're Just Another Brick in the Wall

6: If it were up to me, we’d have 3 cats, 2 dogs, and a sheep as family pets

Yes, that means Manny and Toby would both have to make room for yet another cat, plus we would have 2 dogs (we like the smaller lap-dogs, like a Miniature Schnauzer or a Teacup Morkie).  We both grew up having dogs in our lives, and have been counting down the days until we can get one.  We’ve wanted to wait for a house to get one so that they have the room to run free and not bother upstairs or downstairs neighbors, so hopefully this happens pretty soon.  And a sheep?  Don’t ask.  It’s been something I’ve always wanted, probably because when they bleat, they stick their tongue out and they’re eyes go all weird.  Or maybe it’s because they like to follow and be around people.  Or maybe it’s because they know their name, and seem like they would be really fun to have as a pet.  Or it could be because I saw this video and fell in love:

Whatever the case, it’s on the list.

7: I’ve worked almost every job industry out there.

My first job came when I was 11 or 12 years old. The local newspaper in my area needed people to deliver twice a week, and my parents signed me up. I had about 200-300 newspapers that needed to be bagged per week, and because my area had such large property lots, my parents would drive me and I would huck newspapers out the window. Believe me, I tried biking it one time and it was pathetic. I then worked one summer as a golf caddy, which paid decent for only having 4 hours worth of work. Then I found a job at my high school pool, where I was a ticket-taker (checking people into the pool, taking their money, etc), then a lifeguard, then a swim instructor, then a pool maintenance person, then an assistant swimming coach, then a manager (or as we called it, “Head Lifeguard.”), and then all of those at once.

I then worked at a retail hunting/fishing store as well as a construction job (roofing) before I went to college to earn money for tuition. When I got to college, I donated plasma ($25.00/donation, which you could do twice per week), worked in retail (again), worked as a tutor on campus for people with reading disabilities/ESL students, then with students on their writing. We got married, took a one-semester break from school, and worked in West Yellowstone, Montana as waiters at a busy restaurant up there. Then we moved back to Idaho, where I then began managing the center where we tutored. I graduated, and due to the economy took a job doing clerical work. And now I’ve moved on from there and work in an office environment. Needless to say, I like this place I’m at the most.

OOOO TRICKY TRICKY!!!  WHICH ONE IS BRANDT, WHICH ONE IS ASHLEY!?!?!?!?!?!?

I’m sure it’ll probably be pretty easy for you all to figure that out, so let me know in the comments which number is which one of us!

So that’s about it!  I guess in wrapping up the STYLISH BLOGGER AWARD, I have to bestow the coveted award to 15 other people.  Wow.  That’s a lot of people.  How about, if you make a comment below, I’ll jump on your blog, make a comment on yours giving you the award, and link you below.  TANTALIZING, I KNOW!  Have at it!  Have fun!

2 Comments to “I CHOOSE YOU, PIKACHU!”

  1. bahahaha! I love a good pokemon reference… it gets me every time 😉

    I don’t know who is who!!!!! ahhh! I think 3 and 7 are Brandt…. hmm… I want to know!!!

    Fab post. This made me laugh quite a bit – which is my fav ❤

Leave a Reply

