Surviving a Home Inspection

by brandt

I really like Mike Holmes. I do. I think he’s carved out a great niche in HGTV programming, I think what he does is a great service to people who need the help, and I think that he gives manly men like me the illusion of demolishing a bathroom, or a kitchen. It’s a bit like the 30-Rock episode describing a new PPV channel geared towards women. Watch the episode, then you’ll get the joke.Here’s what I don’t like about Mike Holmes. He freaks me out.

I get it Mike. I know that you’re working towards ratings, and I understand that no one wants to see a boring home inspection that goes smoothly. But for someone who might be going through a home inspection in the future at some point, seeing crappy sub-contractor work, shoddy workmanship, and $1,000’s of dollars going out the window to solve a problem that will never be solved makes my stomach do somersaults.

It is based in Canada. [Insert Random Canadian Joke Here…but you better stay away from Ketchup Chips and hockey!].

We’ve been in some houses that looked like they couldn’t pass inspection. We’ve looked at some houses that made us worry. But a strong majority of houses we looked at seemed pretty well taken care of. I mean, if you think about it, most people need to have a home that is somewhat decent just to live in it. The foreclosures, I can understand, but the private sales?  I mean, really?

Oh, and this whole series from This Old House doesn’t make me feel any better.  Though it does remind me why I decided to stay far away from the redneck side of my distant relatives:

Home Inspection Nightmares I
Home Inspection Nightmares II
Home Inspection Nightmares III
Home Inspection Nightmares IV
Home Inspection Nightmares V

Hopefully, when we get to this point, we’ll have some good exciting news to share, but for right now, we just need to hear back from the bank. It’s been…how long now? Can’t be much longer!

 

Image via Canada.com

5 Comments to “Surviving a Home Inspection”

  1. I’m always shocked by the amount of issues on new constructions. People warned us about buying an old house, but frankly, you can expect as much trouble from a house that’s just a year old. At this point I can recommend taking a contractor you like and trust to your object of desire and have them take a look at it -before- the actual inspection. It might give you some great inside without having to shell out several hundred dollars :o)

    Good luck!
    -Micha

    • That’s what freaks me out. I mean, we still have to get to that point (as in, actually getting an OK to have an inspection), but still, you never know. Minor things on an inspection report, I think I’m OK with. Roof issues, structural foundation issues, mold, we walk away. Probably because a 203k would only give us so much to repair a house, and I don’t want to spend as much repairing it as we would buying it!

  2. Heh …we are spending more on the reno part than the buying part. It all depends :o) Foundation issues were our insta-fail issue *nods* even though the first estimate on the foundation repair for the triplex we first bid on wasn’t nearly as scary as we thought (our guess was double so we were ‘pleasantly’ surprised).

    As far as I know only the streamlined 203K is limited to a certain amount ($35,000 but your contractor’s bid should be about 10% less than that or your lender will urge you to go full 203K). Other than that it is ‘limited’ by the appraisal ie your purchase price and renovation costs should be equal or less than the appraised value after renovation.

    If this is -your- house, things will fall into place :o) That’s how things work.

    • 🙂 let’s hope it’s our house – this waiting game is torture!

      From our first impression of the house, the renovations we would want to do would thankfully be minimal. Replacing the carpeting is the biggest thing on the list, but the areas are much smaller than we realized: the entire upstairs, the stairs leading to the main floor, and that’s about it. I’m thinking it sholdn’t break the bank, but blue carpeting is just killer on the eyes.

  3. Our first inspection showed that the foundation was bowing a bit and the bank freaked out and would have vetoed our offer if it wasn’t fixed. So we had to pay for a basement inspection. We sent the estimate over to the seller and asked them to take care of it. 🙂 My realtor was awesome like that. They said yes. Somewhere in there we also had to get a chimney inspection….. It definitely all worked out for us. I just wanted to tell you that because there are some issues with the house that you can ask the seller to take care of it. If they say no, then walk away.

    I like Mike too. But he is a little on the extreme side.

Leave a Reply

