I Got Worms

by brandt

Well, kind of.

When we toured the house for the first time, it was winter.  No big deal.  We tried to see as much as we could, but it was kind of pointless.  We barely could find where our property line was.

Once we finally signed the paperwork, the snow had started melting and we started getting a good view of our little piece of the earth that we purchased.  Aside from “ooing” and “ahhing” over the actual house on the property, we finally could see what we were working with for our lawn.

The first thing that stands out is the patchiness of it.  Part of that is  the lawn coming out of winter, so naturally your grass would be brownish and unattractive.  But the thing that concerned me was the patchiness of it all, especially since we could see dirt exposed.  That’s usually not a good thing.  Obviously, the most important thing was moving in.  I figured we could hold off on the lawn until we finally got everything unpacked and unloaded into the house.  Oh, and it also decided to snow in mid-April, so I wasn’t too concerned.

I did begin my research.  The lawn looked burnt to a crisp, but it was just coming out of winter.  The grass roots looked like they hadn’t been getting any water, but it had been snowing/raining.  My little analytic brain started working – what could it be?

We were dealing with 2 problems – why was the grass not getting the nourishment it needed, and why did it look like someone had come through and scratched the heck out of the lawn?

Here’s what we were working with

The most intriguing thing to me about this grass was how coarse and brittle it felt.  As though something were destroying the roots, not letting it take hold, and not giving the grass the nourishment it needs to be lush, green, and thick.

The answer was simple,  And, for some, a bit disgusting.

YUM, right?  That, friends, is a grub.  From the research I did, moths lay their eggs, or burrow, or do something to get these little buggers underground.  They then feed on all the nutrients right below the surface, which would explain why the grass couldn’t take root.  As I was fiddling with the grass, I noticed that I could grab it, and it would come up quite easily.  I grabbed a little handful, pulled, and it was like I was pulling up carpeting.  And then I saw it.  The gross little white bugger.

Again, it came up almost in a straight line.  I knew I had to put an end to these nasty buggers, especially because of what I found out next.

Remember how I was confused as to why we have these patches of scratched up earth?  Well, come to find out, we have some critters.  And those critters find grubs to be quite delectable.  I’m having flashbacks of “The Lion King,” when Timon and Pumbaa kept gushing over which grubs were the most tasty.

So animals like grubs.  Understandable.  What type of animal would dig and tear and root around my lawn?  I can think of one.

It’s black.

It’s white.

It’s stinky.

And it’s the last thing I want on my lawn, especially if it gets spooked.

Thankfully, my local Home Depot has experienced this before.

One bag of this, and I was on my way.  Spreading was simple, especially since on the bag it tells you exactly how thick it need to be spread (mine said to adjust the dial to a spreading thickness of 3 1/2), and then water.  thankful, Michigan is quite prone to the old axiom “April Showers Bring May Flowers,” and just as I was finishing up, the rain started coming down.  Perfect timing.

Now I wish I could show you an “after” photo.  Sadly, there isn’t an immediate difference in how things look.  All we can do is monitor the grass, scare away the skunks, and hope that our little grub problem goes away as quickly as possible.

Images via and via.

4 Comments to “I Got Worms”

  1. You’ll have that gorgeous after photo soon enough =) that little bugger is GROSS! ew!

    We have a sandy backyard here in NC and its kind of impossible… bleh!

    Hooky so twinkies — I haven’t had one since I was in elementary school — I have no idea if I even like them!? I am certain I love those nutty buddy wafter snacks that are sold in the same aisle. If those find their way into my line of sight… Houston we have an uh oh!

    I promise i’m human. Taco bell has been my house hunting food of choice. This week i’ve had two no-meat extra-bean mexican pizzas covered in sauce and cheese. YUM! =)

  2. We have grubs too. Our solution is one of 2 things – pull up our entire back yard, de-grub, and then install sod. OR. Pull up our entire back yard, de-grub, and then lay turf. But we also have poison ivy and other things I’d like to burn growning in our yard.

Leave a Reply

